Straw Bale Gardening

I am soooo….. excited. I had 30 bales of straw delivered this week to begin my straw bale gardening experiment. This, apparently, was a bad year for straw production and there is a shortage. After calling several places with no luck, I called our local agricultural center. They referred me to a garden center in a near-by town, and they delivered for a good price.

It is recommended to have 5 straw bales per each family member to have an adequate supply of food, so 30 bales was the right amount to feed us, our children, children-in-laws, and Finn (grandbaby), doesn’t eat much.

Straw bales delivered.

Straw bales delivered.

Some of the family members that I didn’t need straw bales for… still managed to enjoy them. Scout (cat) decided to take a nap on the bales, and of course if the cat can get up on the bales, Jazz (dog) has to copy the cat.

Scout and Jazz hanging out on the straw bales.

Scout and Jazz hanging out on the straw bales.

Jazz guarding the cat in her pink sweater.

Jazz, in her pink sweater, guarding the cat.

Two character cards come to mine when I look at these sweet, funny, animals.

Diligence vs. Slothfulness

“Visualizing each task as an assignment from the Lord and using all my energies to accomplish it.” (Jazz guarding Scout.)

And

Tolerance vs. Prejudice

“Acceptance of others as unique expressions of specific character qualities in varying degrees of maturity.” (The tolerance of both Jazz and Scout for each other, even though they are so totally different.)

Have a great weekend in this beautiful weather!

 

2 thoughts on “Straw Bale Gardening

  1. I am looking forward to seeing your progress…I also have 30 bales! First time for me too! I start watering today 🙂

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

