Yearly Maintenance

I am trying to keep up with yearly tasks to make life easier. I am working toward having forethought and planning strategies to work on my flower beds when the weeds are just starting, instead of letting them take over.

I recently purchased “Character Cards” and this process comes under the heading of “Initiative vs. Unresponsiveness.” The card reads, “Recognizing and doing what needs to be done before I am asked to do it.”… or in my case before the weeds take over.:)

The character card gives this fact: “The older whistling swan shows initiative by taking the lead in a flock’s ‘V’ formation. As other swans follow the leader’s example and take turns breaking the wind, a flock is able to fly 30 percent farther than if each swan flew alone.

So… Friday, I worked on my front flower bed. The grass and weeds had begun to grow under and over the faux, rubber, mulch border.

Grass and weeds growing over the faux mulch border.

Grass and weeds growing over the faux mulch border.

I removed the border and chopped out all weeds. I also skimmed down a hill in the middle, and made the curve of the border smoother, so that it will be easier to mow.

Border removed and weeds chopped out.

Border removed and weeds chopped out.

I replaced the border and added fresh mulch.

Border replaced and fresh mulch applied.

Border replaced and fresh mulch applied.

One down, four more areas to go.

“But there is a spirit in man: and the inspiration of the Almighty giveth them understanding.” Job 32:8

 

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

