Simple Ways

In December my mom gave me a piece of her Lenten Rose to plant. It was supposed to bloom in January, but has just recently began to bloom, probably due to the really hard winter we have had.

Lenten Rose

Lenten Rose

Another view

Another view

We took a trip to visit with my parents yesterday. My daughter and grandson went along with me and my husband. It was a very enjoyable day for all of us.

I always learn something about the old, simpler, ways of doing things, when I listen carefully to what my parents are trying to tell me. My dad has been trying to root cuttings of a white fringe tree to share with each of his children and grandchildren. He can get them to produce leaves on the woody cuttings, but no roots develop. My mom happened to mention to him, “Why don’t you try what my mother used to do?”

My grandmother used to root cuttings from plants just by sticking them in the ground on the north side of the house. Once rooted, she pulled or dug them out and put them in pots, or in the ground, where she wanted them. I asked my dad why this would work, and he told me it was due to the shade and moisture in the ground on the north side. The north side provides the perfect medium for new growth.

I found it interesting how simple a good solution can be. There is no rooting powder to buy, no special soil to mix up, just sticking it in the ground in the right place.

Life doesn’t always have to be complicated. When we learn to stop striving and do things a little more simply… that is when everything turns out the best.

“Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:29-30

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

