Praise The Lord

Praise the Lord!

I am almost through with my basement re-do. It has been such a struggle with trying to paint in bad weather, time constraints, and just the sheer magnitude of the work itself.

BUT…

My basement now has a family movie viewing area, a workout area, a Bible study area, and a play area. There are still a few minor things that I need to do to complete the job but these will be enjoyable to finish.

So here are the before and after photos.

Door to garage.

Door to garage.

After.

After.

The view from the woodstove area.

The view from the woodstove area to the back wall.

The new arrangement with the play area at the back.

The new arrangement with the play area at the back. (Viewed from the same view as the last picture)

The old bookcases.

The old bookcases.

The bookcases now finished with green paint and laminate backs.

The bookcases now finished with green paint and laminate backs. (I still have five doors that I am painting to complete this project, and I am looking for glass knobs for the doors.)

The old room.

The old room.

The new room.

The new room.

I have five doors that I am still in the process of painting, to complete the bookcases. I am looking for new glass knobs to put on the bookcase doors. I repainted the old cedar chest and I am working on pillows for the top, and making curtains to hang on each side for a fake window.

I bought a window for $5.00 at an antique store, but it needs a lot of tlc and a mirror to complete it. I am also shopping for just the right rug to complete the movie area. We had planned on new carpet but ran out of money.

I will post updates as I complete these small projects.

Now it is time for me to go back to work in the garden. Yay!

Gardens have much significance in the Bible. Man was initially placed in a garden to tend it, and sin entered the world in this same garden. Gardens for Kings where extremely over done…

“And when these days were expired, the king made a feast unto all the people that were present in Shushan the palace, both unto great and small, seven days, in the court of the garden of the king’s palace; Where were white, green, and blue, hangings, fastened with cords of fine linen and purple to silver rings and pillars of marble: the beds were of gold and silver, upon a pavement of red, and blue, and white, and black, marble.” Esther 1:5-6

“I made me great works; I builded me houses; I planted me vineyards: I made me gardens and orchards, and I planted trees in them of all kind of fruits: I made me pools of water, to water therewith the wood that bringeth forth trees:” Ecclesiastes 2:4-5

Jesus was betrayed in a garden (see John 18), and was buried in a garden (see John 19:40-42). Jesus rose from the grave in this garden and was mistaken for a gardener (see John 20:1-18).

One day I think we will live in a beautiful garden once more (see Revelation 22:1-3).

BUT… until that time… I will continue to work in my garden.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

