God

I could not make it through this world without leaning on God for my strength and guidance through life. When I let myself  take control… I mess things up. When I allow God to take control… things go so much better, even when I am not understanding the path that He leads me on (see Psalm 23:3b).

I love to study the Bible and desire to learn as much as I can. I would love to put all I learn into practice but have found that has to come very slowly. The way we think, as taught by worldly standards, and the way God wants us to think, are two very very different things.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

Another area that I have finished on my basement project is an area for Bible study. I can leave all my books and Bible there, open to the next place I need to read, and go about my day until I come back to the spot and meet back up with God’s word.

Bible Study area.

Bible Study area.

Notice the heating pad tied to the back of the chair. I like to get cozy as I study.

Notice the heating pad tied to the back of the chair. I like to get cozy as I study.

I found this metal wall art at Hobby Lobby and placed it there as a pray for God to teach me His ways.

I found this metal wall art at Hobby Lobby and placed it there as a pray for God to teach me His ways.

I study here and then go out into the world and mess up. And I come back and study some more, and go out again and mess up. And I come back… again and again… and the next time I don’t mess up quite so much. It is a process that God has to walk me through to get me where He wants me to be. It is hard, but God is gentle with me, even when I am not gentle with myself.

If you don’t have a relationship with God then you are missing out on something very wonderful that helps you walk through this life and prepares you for the next.

Here is a prayer for you:

“Shew me thy ways, O Lord; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation: on thee do I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:4-5

If you want to seek a relationship with God, study the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John to see what Jesus did while on earth and why He had to die on the cross for our sins.

To understand our sinful nature just try to keep all the commandments for just one day. (The ten commandments are found in Exodus chapter 20.) If you get past the… Thou shalt not lie, and Thou shalt not take God’s name in vain, try getting past the New Testament idea of murder.

“Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him. 1 John 3:15

“As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one.” Romans 3:10

“For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Romans 6:23

But God says:

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”      1 John 1:9

And…

“That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans 10:9,10,13

If you follow the plan from the Bible, set out in the scriptures mentioned above, then I am sure you will soon want to make your own sanctuary where you can be alone with God and study His word.

(Note: If you are new to the Bible, there is the gospel of John that follows Luke and then there is 1 John, 2 John, and 3 John toward the end of the Bible sandwiched between the books of Peter and Jude. These books are all written by the same John. As you study the Bible, think of it as a Library that has poetry books, song books, history books, books of prophecy, books of wisdom, letters, etc., instead of just one book.)

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

