Relaxing

Working on the basement project began to feel like a huge burden a few weeks ago. Other areas of work were added to my already full load and I felt like I had no time to relax at all. Then I got bronchitis, which meant nights of coughing that kept me awake, and I became exhausted.

I continued to work as much as possible through it all, until over the last few days I caught myself thinking… it is okay to set down and relax for a while.

It became clear to me that my exhaustion was due to feeling like I needed to keep going no matter what. So now I am telling myself to relax more frequently and that it is okay. The work will eventually still get done.

I am excited to say that I almost have one area of my major project completed. It is the area that I created for me and Finn… and any future grandbabies to play in. My husband and I are still working on adding moulding to a door that covers the water line in the corner, but the rest is done.

Play area. We are in the process of fixing a door that covers the water line.

Play area. We are in the process of fixing a door that covers the water line.

Play area full of toys.

Play area full of toys.

Toy storage and divider that separates the play area from the rest of the room.

Toy storage and divider that separates the play area from the rest of the room.

A wall hanging and body pillow found on sale.

A wall hanging and body pillow found on sale.

So now I can stop and make time to relax and play with Finn.

In the book of Mark, Jesus’ disciples were going through a rough time of teaching, working, and serving people. Then they had the pitiful job of burying John the Baptist after Herod had beheaded him. They met back up with Jesus to tell Him all they had been doing. Jesus gave them instructions to go away and rest… to make time to relax.

“And He said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going and they had no leisure so much as to eat.” Mark 6:31

Ever been that busy? It’s time to relax!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

