Making Flower Arrangements

My work on the basement project continues, but I have been slowed down by the weather. I am determined to finish putting primer on the shelves and bookcase doors outside to prevent a build up of toxic fumes inside.

So… they remain outside, covered with plastic, waiting for a warm day, and the weather forecasters are calling for snow beginning tonight… sigh.

Meanwhile, I have been working on some decorations to use in my new room. I am trying to be frugal in this re-do when possible. My daughter-in-law gave me some coffee cups in a pretty yellow color that would work perfectly with the colors of the room.

Yellow coffee cups.

Yellow coffee cups.

I went to the dollar store and bought one “bunch” each of an orange gerber-looking daisy, yellow and orange daffodil, and some greenery for background color. I bought the green styrofoam used to stabilize flowers. They had a round kind that when cut in half they fit the cups perfectly. The total spent for all four arrangements was $4.00.

Bunches of flowers.

Bunches of flowers.

I cut the flowers apart with wire cutters to see how much I had for each cup.

Flowers cut apart and styafoam inserted in cups.

Flowers cut apart and styrofoam inserted in cups.

Here are the final arrangements.

Four cups of flowers to set around the room.

Four cups of flowers to set around the basement room.

An arrangement up close.

An arrangement up close.

This was a very fun project, done cheaply, with good results. It is a good time of year to be doing projects like this when the weather keeps you inside and you need to add some cheer to a dreary day.

“For lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone; The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come…” Song of Solomon 2:11-12a

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

