Passing Judgements

I keep having delays to completing my basement re-modeling project. I had taken the shelves and doors from the bookcases outside to paint due to the… way-too-strong odor… in the house from the primer. You know it is too strong when you bake a chocolate pie that tastes like paint, because it absorbed the odor.

I could also see drips and blobs of paint better outside in the sunshine, rather than painting in the dark garage.

And then it snowed. Luckily I had covered them well.

Bookcase doors and shelves on sawhorses and planks in the snow.

Bookcase doors and shelves on saw horses and planks in the snow.

Today, it is raining on the doors and shelves. I am praying that the plastic covering them provides enough protection to keep them dry… sigh.

I did get the miles of trim painted.

Trim painted.

Trim painted.

Today, I hope to begin to remove the painters tape and get the laminate paper on the backs of the bookcases.

Laminate paper for the backs of the bookcases.

Laminate paper for the backs of the bookcases.

I have been a little down since I wrote my last post, as I faced issues of weather, timely painting, and of whether my last blog post had a judging nature to it. I fear that it did, and I have repented and prayed for forgiveness if anyone was offended.

There are two forms of judgement that I see from scripture.

One is a judgement of others and what they are doing, as related to whether it is wrong or not. It has a condemning and prideful quality to it… in that we think we don’t do these things, but God quickly points out to us that we do. (See 1 Corinthians 10:13 and Romans 3:10)

Last week after writing the post, I realized that I don’t step out enough in friendship and make a point of approaching others instead of waiting for them to approach me. So I have to confess I condemned last week, something that I do myself.

The scriptures for this type of judgement are:

“Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote that is in they brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?” Matthew 6:25

“Therefore thou are inexcusable, O man, whosoever thou art that judgest: for wherein thou judgest another, thou condemnest thyself; for thou that judgest doest the same things.” Romans 2:1

The second form of judgement is actually called discernment, and God desires to give this to us to help us to weed out the things that satan would try to bring into our lives. It also has the same quality of looking at whether something is right or wrong, but there is no condemnation to it. It is just an observation that something is not right before God and therefore… maybe I should move away from it.

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” 1 Peter 5:8

“Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.” 1 Corinthians 10:12

In 2 Timothy 3:1-5 God gives a list of people we should stay away from: people who love themselves more than others, coveting people, boasters, proud, people who use God’s name as a curse word (Does this mean all those movies and TV shows that are full of those words? Should we stay away from them?….Yes… I know….very hard!), those who are disobedient to parents, the unthankful, the unholy, traitors, high-minded, and the ones who love pleasures more than God.

1 Thessalonians 5:22 says to “Abstain from all appearance of evil.”

In Sarah Mally’s devotional about discernment, she says:

“A lack of discernment in dealing with others can cause hurt feelings, misunderstandings, and offenses. Many problems result because people do not show discernment in their words. Jesus tells us to be “wise as serpents but harmless as doves” (Matthew 10:16)

The best way to influence others is never to criticize, judge, or force standards on them. Instead, it is to show sensitivity, love, humility, and a godly example. This takes discernment.”

Wow….that is certainly hard to do….    Never criticize???

I have found that if I concentrate on myself and what I am doing wrong, and look at the things I need to make right, then I have no time to worry about what anyone else is doing. My pointing finger gets turned right back around in my own face and God gives me strength to not be judging of others.

But NEVER CRITICIZE???!!! God help me! 🙂

“It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.” Psalms 18:32

 

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

