Making Progress

I am beginning to make some progress on my huge basement re-decorating project. It has been very slow going. It takes a great deal of time for one person to paint this much area.

I have finished two coats of oil-based primer on the paneling and have one coat of primer on the five bookcases and cedar chest.

Walls with two coats of primer.

Walls with two coats of primer.

Another view.

Another view.

Down the stairs.

Down the stairs.

Cedar chest before primer.

Cedar chest before primer.

Cedar Chest after one coat of primer.

Cedar Chest after one coat of primer.

First coat of primer on bookcases.

First coat of primer on bookcases.

The odor from the oil-based paint is very over-powering at times. We have turned off the heat and opened windows and garage doors several times. Today is another warm day for opening windows, for which I am thankful. As I lay in bed last night, trying to go to sleep, I kept praying that God would purify the air my husband and I are breathing and make it safe. So far there have been no severe repercussions from the smell.

Once I start painting with the latex paint I am hoping the smell will improve, since it is a “green” (environmental friendly) paint, that should not smell as bad.

Today, I will put a second coat of primer on the bookcases. Tomorrow I hope to start painting the walls.

“But let every man prove his own work, and then shall he have rejoicing in himself alone, and not in another. For every man shall bear his own burden.” Galatians 6:4-5

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

