Quaking At The Sight

On Friday, I couldn’t blog. My internet would not open on my computer. I tried everything I knew to fix it, praying something would work.

I tried again on Saturday. No luck. I rested on Sunday. This morning I tried the only thing I hadn’t tried so far. The MIFI that I use had been staying on the whole time. I turned it off, then back on, and voila, I had internet working once more.

I quake at technology, and the fear of losing everything on my computer. It has happened to me before. I did manage, however, to live through it.

Today, I am quaking at the sight of one of the biggest projects I have ever attempted. Last week I let you know that, since the weather prevents me from working outside, I am going to paint my basement paneling and re-decorate that room.

Now, this is no ordinary room. It encompasses the space of over half of our house upstairs. There is a door, and stairs, and miles of paneling. There are five bookcases to paint. I quake at the thought.

I spent days last week working on preparation, removing books from shelves, moving furniture, removing hardware, with my husband helping me on Friday and Saturday.

Removing books

Removing books.

Finding a place for books.

Finding a place for books.

And then came the laying of drop cloths, and taping everything, and removing shelves, doors, and hardware from the bookcases, and making a painting path.

Shelves removed.

Shelves removed and painting path made.

Half the shelves and doors, awaiting primer in the garage.

Half the shelves and doors, awaiting primer in the garage.

A big mess, waiting to be made right again.

A big mess, waiting to be made right again.

Stair walls to paint without getting paint on the oak steps.

Stair walls to paint without getting paint on the oak steps.

Door frame to paint.

Door frame to paint.

In a little while I will touch my roller and brush to the oil-based primer and start, but right now I am quaking. I dread this job, yet have such hope for the finished product. That hope makes me begin.

I understand how Moses felt when he stood before Mount Sinai and God’s voice shook the Mountain as He spoke to Moses there. “And so terrible was the sight, that Moses said, I exceedingly fear and quake.” Hebrews 12:21

Since…  just God’s voice alone… can shake a mountain, then I pray today that He will be with me as I face my insurmountable mountain of work.

“And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee.” Psalms 39:7

And I lean on the verse that is very familiar to most Christians… “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” Philippians 4:13

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

