Having Dominion Over Sassy Animals

After God created the earth, animals, and man, He chose to give man dominion over it all, especially the animals.

“And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.” Genesis 1:26

On Tuesday nights each week, I call my parents and talk for at least an hour… plus. Yesterday, I was relating the crazy day I had dealing with our animals in the cold weather. My mom referred to them as “my sassy animals” in a later part of our conversation, and I have been smiling over that word ever since.

That is a very funny word and it sums up the day, I had yesterday, with these pets I am to have dominion over. Just in case you are reading this blog for the first time let me introduce you to my sassy 🙂 animals.

Jazz

Jazz

Scout

Scout

Lucy

Lucy

As you know, since the temperatures were dropping this week, I prepared a bed for Scout and Jazz in our heated greenhouse. I decided to use it during the day to give them a chance to get warm, and stay in it while I let Lucy out to run. Lucy doesn’t get along with Jazz or Scout and has to be let out separately.

The high yesterday was 24 degrees. At 7:00 p.m. on Monday night, my husband and I tag-teamed getting Jazz and Scout in the warm kennel we set up in the garage. Now you would think that it would be easy to get them in the kennel because it was so cold outside. I called Scout down to the garage, my husband was able to pick him up and in the kennel he went. I went after Jazz, she knew I wanted to bring her in and she stayed, just out of my reach, I had to chase her down, scolding her and demanding she sit, until I was finally able to pick her up. It was so cold her top sweater felt like a popsicle, yet she was determined not to come inside.

I  let them out Tuesday morning when Jazz started protesting at 9:45 a.m. I went out with them to check on the chickens, and Lucy. My husband had bought 12 small paint pails that I filled with water and left in the greenhouse. I placed a fresh, unfrozen, bucket of water in each chicken lot and one in Lucy’s lot, removing the frozen pails as I went.

Our animals are very spoiled and not only do they get dry food, but they also get a packet of wet. The wet food was frozen in our garden shed, so I had to move it to the greenhouse to thaw. The animals didn’t understand about frozen food and danced under my feet, as I tried to do everything very fast, begging for their wet food.

I left Jazz and Scout out for a few hours in the sun, to run and get their energy out, then I went back out to put them in the greenhouse so Lucy could run in the warm sunshine.

Normally, when I open the greenhouse door, Jazz jumps in ahead of me to explore. She does the same thing when I go in and out of the barn. Yesterday, however, she apparently knew something was up. I tried over and over to get her in the greenhouse, with Scout sliding in and out, when I opened the door. I finally got her inside. She began to scratch at the door and howl. It sounded like she would tear the door down.

That’s all I would need, a hole in my greenhouse door, with such low temperatures. I let both animals out and headed for the barn. Scout went right in, Jazz stayed back about 50 feet and stared at me, as I called and whistled for her to come. Even though it was cold outside, I was hot enough to blow a gasket. Jazz was having dominion over ME! That sassy little thing! 🙂

I finally chased her into the barn, where she howled as loud as possible, and let Lucy out in the sunshine. Later, when I went back to put Lucy up, I found her laying in her usual spot at the back of the house, in the shade. THE SHADE! At 24 degrees. She lays in the sun on warmer days… ha ha…So what had been the point?

I got Lucy back in her house with thawed out wet food. Gave her another new bucket of thawed water. The previous one had frozen during the day.

I let out Jazz and Scout and gave them fresh water and food and replaced the frozen water buckets in the chicken lots.

I was  aching all over and EXHAUSTED! Animals! You try to help them, but they only want their stubborn, sassy way.

“What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour. Thou madest him to have dominion over the works of thy hand; thou hast put all things under his feet: All sheep and oxen, yea, and the beasts of the field;” Psalms 8:4-7

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

