No Time For Idleness

My muscles are groaning this morning and it is a very large, two and one-half cups of coffee, kind of day.

A Christmas present from  my husband. I love The Closer show and he bought me this very large mug.

A Christmas present from my husband. I love The Closer show, and he bought me this very large mug.

I completed many of my projects yesterday, but never got to start on my basement walls.

I painted the decorative wagon early yesterday morning and was able to put a second coat on in the afternoon.

The color is called Sassy Green, and it is the same paint that I will use on the bookcases downstairs.

The color is called Sassy Green, and it is the same paint that I will use on the bookcases downstairs.

My husband was unable to find the thick clear plastic that he wanted to cover the chicken houses, so I nailed thick black trash bags over the doors. Hopefully the black color will help heat the area up even more, once the sun comes up.

Trash bags nailed over lower chicken doors to keep the wind from blowing in.

Trash bags nailed over lower chicken doors to keep the wind from blowing in.

An inside view of the area. It is where they eat during the day.

An inside view of the area. It is where they eat during the day.

I added a thick layer of straw to the upper house where they roost at night.

Straw used for insulation under roost.

Straw used for insulation under roost.

Lucy “helped” me gather sticks for kindling.

Kindling gathered.

Kindling gathered.

I made a bed in the greenhouse for our cat and other dog for today. The high is only going to be 24 degrees. Our animals are outside animals and they protest greatly  when kept inside. Right now they are in a warm kennel together in the garage. When they start fussing, because they realize it is morning, I will let them outside. Periodically during the day I will let them stay a few hours at a time in the greenhouse to warm back up. They still consider that to be outside. 🙂

Bed made over a plastic trash bag to keep moisture from making the blanket wet and placed in front of heaters.

Bed made over a plastic trash bag to keep moisture from making the blanket wet and placed in front of heaters.

After lunch I scrubbed down the deck, rearranged the deck implements for better maintenance and threw away a lot of trash and junk. That took a while.

Before

Before

Before... another view.

Before… another view.

Area... after.

Area… after.

I moved the bench for storing boots closer to the door we come in and out of, to keep from tracking muddy feet across the deck. I also moved a plastic storage unit to that side of the deck to add another deterrent to the wind that blows in from this end.

Bench for boots and storage unit moved closer to door.

Bench for boots and storage unit moved closer to door.

Another view.

Another view.

The chairs for the table are sitting in our basement right now with new chair pads. The deck is ready for them.

Today… it is time to get started on the basement project!

“She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

