First Things First

I hope to begin work on my basement revamping project today, but there are several things I need to do first.

A very large section of our country is experiencing a very wintery blast, and beginning tonight the temperatures are dropping into the single digits, with the windchill below 0 degrees in our area.

Our chickens, dogs, and cat, have to be taken care of and kept warm during this cold spell. As soon as it is light, I plan to add a layer of straw to our chicken houses for insulation and cover the doors with plastic to prevent the wind from blowing in.

I have been keeping a double layer of sweaters on Jazz during this cold weather. Scout has his own thick coat. I am making a bed in our heated greenhouse for Scout and Jazz to stay in, since they are buddies and don’t like to be separated.

Buddies.

Buddies. Jazz (dog) Scout (cat)

Our other dog, Lucy, has her own well-insulated dog house with thick straw and quilt added to keep her warm.

The door in the background leads to a smaller cozy area.

The small door in the background leads to a smaller warm area.

It has been raining most of the night, but I plan to pick up sticks for kindling for the wood stove today. They will dry out quickly in our garage.

As I wait for daylight, I am working on another project by the warm wood stove downstairs. I am painting a wooden decorative wagon to use for decorations on our back porch. It was chosen for me as a Christmas present from my dad many years ago, and I had been using it in the bedroom to hold magazines.

I want to keep my bedroom updated, and since the wagon is more of a country/garden decoration, I want to use it on the back porch to hold flowers.

Decorative country wagon before painting.

Decorative country wagon before painting.

So today, I have plenty to do before I start on the “real” work of preparing the basement paneling for its first coat of paint.

I hope to be able to show some completed projects as the week progresses.

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” Matthew 6:33

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

