Dryer Lint Fire-starters

We have a wood stove in our basement at the foot of the stairs. It has blowers that send heat from the stove up the stairs, supplementing our cold, heat-pump air. It also circulates warm air around our half-finished basement, which has no other source of heat.

Wood stove in basement.

Wood stove in basement.

On good days, starting the fire is easy and goes fast. Other days, it takes more coaxing and time. To help the process along, I learned to make fire-starters from an issue of Mother Earth magazine, using dryer lint.

To make these fire-starters, I keep a cardboard egg carton near my dryer. Every time I clean out the lint trap, I add the dryer lint to the egg sections.

Dryer lint in cardboard egg carton.

Dryer lint in cardboard egg carton.

I keep a discarded pot handy and stash old candles in it after they have been used to the point they no longer look good. I melt these on medium heat on the stove.

Old candles.

Old candles.

Candles melting down.

Candles melting down.

I pour the melted wax over the egg carton and dryer lint.

Dryer lint and egg carton soaked in melted candle wax.

Dryer lint and egg carton soaked in melted candle wax.

When cool, I then cut them into one-egg-section pieces.

Cutting the egg carton.

Cutting the egg carton.

Finished product.

Finished product.

I now have a dozen fire-starters to make my life easier.

When ready to use, I place them in the middle of crumpled paper with kindling on top, then light the paper. The pieces combust easily, and the wax keeps the fire going long enough to light the kindling, then burn away.

My husband came by the stove as I was making the fire-starters this morning, and I mentioned that an old tea kettle for melting the wax, with a good spout for pouring it over the dryer lint, sure would make my life easier. He suggested I look at Goodwill for an old kettle. As they say… “Two heads are better than one.” 🙂

“I indeed baptize you with water unto repentance: but He that cometh after me is mightier than I, whose shoes I am not worthy to bear: He shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost, and with fire.” Matthew 3:11

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

