Christmas Cactus

As a young child, at this time of year, my grandmother always had a Christmas Cactus in bloom. I remember listening to my mom and grandmother talk about the steps to get it to bloom. My grandmother was meticulous in the care of her plant, and over time it became a giant with much growth and many blooms.

I bought a Christmas Cactus last year. They come in a wide variety of colors, but I chose a cherry red one.

While visiting my mother recently, I mentioned that my Christmas Cactus was blooming. “What color is it?” she asked.

I replied, “Cherry red.”

She smiled, “That is the color your grandmother always had.”

I didn’t remember the color of my grandmother’s when I purchased it, but it must have been ingrained deep in my mind from childhood, so that I would choose the same color. It is amazing what is passed on to us without our even knowing it.

Christmas cactus in bloom.

Christmas cactus in bloom.

Beautiful blooms up close.

Beautiful blooms up close.

Even though these plants are called cactus, they are not from the desert, but are a tropical plant that comes from the jungles of South America. For tips on caring for a Christmas Cactus and producing blooms click here.

It is interesting to me to remember what my mother and grandmother discussed when they visited with each other. They lived in a simpler time where growing plants and gardens were important topics. They talked about what produce was coming in from my dad’s garden that my mom was processing. They discussed patterns, cloth, new styles, for what seemed like hours. They shared recipes for cakes and cherry yum yum and meat loaf. It was such a different world from today. How wonderful that a Christmas Cactus can bring back those sweet memories.

But the most important things that we need to talk about in front of our children are…

“And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all they soul, and with all thy might. And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart: And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down and when thou risest up.” Deuteronomy 6:5-7

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

