Lenten Rose Gift

On Friday, we made a trip to visit my mom and dad to enjoy an early celebration of my mom’s birthday. I cannot remember ever making a trip to their house and not being given something to take back home. It might be food, plants, clothes, kitchen supplies, home decorations… you name it…. they always give something to their children or grandchildren before they leave their house.

Most of the things they give are used. During their entire lives they have never had much money to spend, but have you ever noticed that the ones with the least money are always the most generous? I have to guard my words when they show me something and never say… “Oh I would like to have one of those”…  because they will give me theirs.

This week my mom had my dad dig up a part of her Lenten Rose to send home with me. This rose blooms in January, when it is so very cold, and there is no hope of gardening outside. It provides some cheer and a look forward to a preview of flowers to come at the winter’s end.

Lenten Rose planted in the shade of a rock.

Lenten Rose planted in the shade of a rock.

Mom’s plant grows in the shade, so I planted it behind a rock that will protect it from the sun. I also planted it where it can be enjoyed as you walk up the walkway to our front door.

Lenten Rose behind rock but still visible from the walkway.

Lenten Rose behind rock but still visible from the walkway.

What do your parents pass on to you?

“The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with Him, that we may be also glorified together.” Romans 8:16-17

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

