The Reason For Writing

I am starting a new week and feeling grateful that I have finished my story of becoming a homemaker. It was hard to write.

A new day.

A new day.

I don’t like reliving those times, I still get very emotional over them, and as you probably know, I left a lot out. It isn’t necessary to waller in all my garbage, to see the big picture.

There are three reasons that I chose to write this series:

1. To follow the Great Commission. Matthew 28: 19-20 “Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of  the Holy Ghost: Teach them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”

The… teach them to observe all the things commanded… covers Matthew 19 where Jesus teaches about divorce and marriage, and Ephesians 5: 22-33, where Paul gives a picture of what our marriages should look like.

2. To obey Titus 2: 3-5. “The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.”

I have struggled over the years on how to love my husband. God and His word is my resource on how to do this. For women it is not always an easy thing to do. We don’t understand men and the choices they make, just as they do not understand us. But if we pray and ask for wisdom (James 1:5), and study the passages on marriage, then ask God’s help to follow His words (James 4:2-3), if we learn how we are to approach God (James 4:10), then we can be led to the right choices and God’s plan for our lives and marriages.

I especially want the younger women to learn how they need to approach this part of their lives, and hope by writing my story it will prevent them from following my footsteps down the wrong path. (I especially wrote this story for my daughter and daughter-in-law. :))

3. I’ve left the most important reason until last. I wrote this series to show that The Bible is God’s Infallible Word, and that we can go to it for every aspect of our lives. The Bible is correct, it is truth, and the whole Bible, from beginning to end, should be our first resource to run to when we are in trouble. We should also run to it daily when we are not in trouble, to keep us straight. We should study it rigorously… if we are to ever make anything out of ourselves.

I hear people… children, men, women, weak Christians, stronger Christians… say that parts of the Bible do not apply to us today… that it isn’t relative to the modern world. Churches try to change its truths, especially when dealing with women issues, and the women’s lib movement. And neither women nor men, want to hear what God has to say about how we choose to live.

I want to give a warning to those who want to change and misinterpret God’s words…

“For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.” Revelation 22: 18-19

“For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

“Add thou not unto His words, lest He reprove thee, and thou be found a liar.” Proverbs 30:6

We need to be careful not to change God’s words, as we try to live them out.

Tomorrow I will post “A Note From Danny“.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

