Becoming A Homemaker (The Beginning)

Christmas cactus... soon to bloom.

Christmas cactus… soon to bloom.

I have been contemplating starting a series on my blog about how I have come to be a homemaker at this stage of my life. I wondered if I would be straying from my blog’s theme if I did, but decided that homemaking and gardening run parallel to each other. I could not work in my garden as much, if I were not home to do it, and providing better meals from fresh produce is important to being a homemaker. (During the series, I will still be sharing the things that I am doing over the winter in the garden.)

The road I took to become a homemaker is a very messy one, and to share it would be revealing things about my past that is hard to share and still hurts to this day. I had been praying about whether this would be the right thing to do. I asked my husband last night if it would be okay to share some of our past history, since my story is wrapped around his story. He said that he trusted me to share our stories.

I was still praying about it this morning when I received a text that I felt was a message from God to step forward. The part that glared out at me from the text and burned a hole in my eyes was… “Turn your mess into your message!” It was like a flashing neon sign. (Thanks Kim for sharing truth from God. I am thankful God put you in my life at this time, and I think you should start a blog. :))

Another reason I wanted to write about homemaking is because so many people do not deem this a worthy calling. Until the 1940’s most women were homemakers. The world now judges you for being a homemaker. I ran into this recently when I had a series of doctor’s appointments. When filling out your paperwork there is always that question… What is your occupation? I have had various responses from this over the years since I stopped nursing in 2008 to stay home full time.

One of the most interesting responses I had was around 2009 when I went for a return doctor’s visit after several months, and the  girl filling out my paperwork glanced at the dreaded occupation section and asked, “Can you still not find a job?” I didn’t tell her that I wasn’t even looking. She would really have thought me a bum for sure.

I notice that I am treated differently now, than when I used to put registered nurse under occupation. And if you think I am going to try to say that every woman should be a homemaker, then I have to reply to that… where would this country be without the great female nurses that we have in the hospitals :).

What I am trying to say is… you need to do what God is calling you to do. You let Him lead you, on your very on path… the one He has set for you to follow. “Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.” Psalms 16:11

But letting the world tell us that homemaking is wrong or we are worthless, lazy, or of no value… that if we are a homemaker, we don’t have a brain and are not smart… is not right either. As Christians we are not to conform to the worldview. “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

So tomorrow my series will start with 2004, when my husband and I separated after 27 years of marriage. I am opening myself up to reveal my “mess” in the hopes that it might help someone else who is struggling with the same things, for we are all struggling with the same things, but satan doesn’t want us to know that, so we can’t help each other. “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man.” 1 Corinthians 10:13a

I will leave you with one thought for this day that I have learned over the years. If we don’t ever say anything bad about anyone, then we don’t have to worry about what we said getting back to them. 🙂

Tune in tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Becoming A Homemaker (The Beginning)

  1. I Love it! I have always said when I ask someone’s occupation if they say homemaker that is a 24 hour 7 day a week job. I love your blog!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

