Therapy

The garden has been a mess since the end of summer. I had been waiting for colder weather to kill back the weeds and now the time has come for me to get to work.

This weekend, I spent Friday and Saturday working on the side of the garden next to the fence.

I tried growing green beans and lima beans in this area during the summer, but the weeds and bermuda grass took over so quickly the results were very poor. From now on the only things that I will grow outside of my raised beds will be corn and melons.

In this side area next to the fence. I plan to place landscape fabric down, and add oak mulch to keep it weed free. I want to find some interesting containers to place here, that I can grow vegetables in but will allow me to maintain control of weeds more easily.

Here is what the mess looked like before.

Weeds growing beside of fence and covering fence.

Weeds growing beside of fence and covering fence.

Close-up of matted weeds.

Close-up of matted weeds.

After the use of mattock, rake, tiller, and sweat… here is the after picture.

After

After

Another view.

Another view.

I was able to get the weeds off the fence and the first row of beds cleaned off on that side. There is still so much work to do, but I have all winter to get it done.

I love to be outside working. It clears the mind and is the best therapy I can think of for dealing with stressful situations. It allows you time to envision and dream of having a “Martha Stewart” (perfect) garden and hope for a New Year of better things. My dad always says, “Working in the garden will cure what ails you!” 🙂

What do you use for therapy?

“Behold, I will bring it (a city) health and cure, and I will cure them, and will reveal unto them the abundance of peace and truth.” Jeremiah 33:6

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

