Mint

I cleaned out my mint bed last week. I will never plant mint in a raised bed again. The roots grow in a tangled mess. Mint roots spread like Bermuda grass and wander out of the bed, and into paths and other beds. I had to chop the roots out with a mattock.

I planted some of the discarded mint in a pot, to keep it contained.

Mint bed before

Mint bed before

I have decided to plant this bed with herbs to use in cooking. I was able to clean most of the roots out, but will leave the bed open and let the cold temperatures freeze out any roots that might remain. I want to be sure no mint is left to grow back.

Bed free of mint

Bed… free of mint

When I am sure everything has been killed off, I will add some rich dirt to the bed and begin to add my herbs. I have sage growing in another bed that I can move here, and I plan to add a rosemary plant which can be cut and used all winter. I will add some annual herbs in the spring.

I am looking forward to enjoying fresh herbs from the garden.

“Better is a dinner of herbs where love is, than a stalled ox and hatred therewith.” Proverbs 15:17

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

