Snakes

I worked in the garden Saturday, cleaning off weeds and debris. As you know, because I have mentioned it over and over in these posts, I HATE SNAKES! I feel that snakes are satan… and evil. I know all the science behind beneficial snakes, like the ground snakes I have in the garden, who eat harmful bugs and pests, but… I STILL HATE SNAKES!

It must be the Garden of Eden thing for me. The “serpent” was called subtle and crafty. He was sneaky with his use of words, and his first attack was on a woman.

As I was raking out one of my raised beds, I raked up this snake.

Ground snake in raised bed.

Ground snake in raised bed.

It looks big from this picture because I zoomed in to get it. (I didn’t get close to it myself.) Below is the size in relation to the side of the raised bed.

Very small snake.

Very small snake.

I left it alone, in the bed, while I cleaned the other surrounding beds. It was cold and slow-moving, but it eventually crawled in a hole in the bed. I guess it will be there next spring for me to dig up again… phew!

Anyway, I thought about that snake and how it is the same with life. You are going along, minding your business, working and trying to stay away from trouble, and then the trouble finds you. You accidentally dig it up.

So… how do you handle the trouble you accidentally manage to dig up. You leave it alone. You pray. You wait for God to take care of it. You go about your other work, and leave it alone. And just like the snake, it eventually goes away.

It might be dug out once more at a later date, but if strong prayers are prayed, just like that snake, you may never see it again.

It is important in life… to know that we don’t have to do something about every situation that comes our way. Sometimes we can just leave them alone and they go away.

“The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.” Exodus 14:14

“It shall come to pass, that before they call, I will answer; and whiles they are yet speaking, I will hear. The wolf and the lamb shall feed together, and the lion shall eat straw like the bullock: and dust shall be the serpent’s meat. They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain, saith the Lord.” Isaiah 65:24-25

“I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine.” John 17:9

God’s got our back. He will hear before we even call. The “serpent” (snakes of life) shall not hurt or destroy us. Jesus prays for us! God fights for us!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

