Diseases

Even though I was still sick with a cold, I decided to spend a few hours working in the garden yesterday. I had previously said that I would work on one row of raised beds per day. Um, yeah, that isn’t going to happen. But, I decided that I would not let fear rule, and I would do as much as I could physically do.

Before.

Before.

Weeds were growing between the bricks. The okra bed needed to be cleaned off. The strawberries needed to be moved to a new bed. And you can see the mint is growing everywhere.

I began by cleaning off the okra bed. Pretty easy, not too strenuous.

Then I hoed the old potato bed. The potatoes didn’t do well this year. They were misshapened and had weird growths. When I looked it up, there were a variety of reasons, like overcrowding, changes in the moisture of the soil, soil that is too alkaline, etcetera. Any of these can cause the problem. I noticed as I hoed that there were plenty of large worms in the soil. My dad always says if you have lots of worms, the soil is rich. I left the potatoes in the bed to let the worms compost them.

Mishapened potatoes.

Misshapened potatoes.

Then I decided to move the strawberries to this bed.  I wanted to see what would happen if I grew strawberries on a bed where the potatoes were being composted over the winter months. It is an experiment, and I hope I don’t regret that choice. The potatoes could have been diseased and will cause disease to start on the strawberry plants, but you never learn without experimenting.

Many people feel the Bible is not relevant for us today. I have found that I can go to the Bible for any answer that I need. Monday night, in Bible class, a scripture was pointed out that I had read recently. “….thou shalt not sow thy field with mingled seed….” (Leviticus 19: 19) Does this mean growing strawberries on a bed with potatoes left in it? Or is this old law and doesn’t matter today. I guess I will find out in the spring, because I planted half the bed with the strawberry plants.

Potatoe bed planted with strawberries.

Potato bed planted with strawberries.

A strawberry was on one of the plants… in November! Sometimes the oddest things happen in a garden.

A strawberry in November.

A strawberry in November.

I wasn’t able to get to the mint bed and will save that for another day. Below is the final product from yesterday’s work.

The sidewalk is free of weeds and two beds are cleaned off.

The sidewalk is free of weeds and two beds are cleaned off.

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases… ” Psalm 103:2-3

I hope this includes diseases in plants. 🙂

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

