A New Day

I started getting sick with a cold Saturday afternoon and by Sunday I was having a royal pity party. My husband and I tried to go to an Antique show in Charlotte, but it is very hard to enjoy looking at anything when your nose is dripping and your head feels like it weighs a ton.

So we went home, and I laid in the recliner on a heating pad trying to find something to watch on TV and feeling very sorry for myself.

I believe God gives you sickness to use as down time for regrouping. When you are sick and can’t do your normal routine, you have plenty of time to think. Time to think about failed past relationships, how to keep failed past relationships from happening again, and about all the projects you have started and never completed.

The world seems to revolve around these two things:  relationships and projects.

Most of the time… we fail at both… because we fear.

Projects:  We fear we can’t get them done so we never start… or we fear the next step that completion of the project will move us to… or we fear rejection of our project.

Relationships:  We fail to be truthful when we desire the relationship to be a certain way, and compromise our beliefs to make others happy. Then we are not happy. We walk on eggshells, always afraid that the next words we say, will be the end of the relationship. Some relationships are not worth pursuing… like friends who only want you around when they can get something from you. But… family relationships are important and definitely need to be pursued. It is just a matter of how to go about it, to be truthful, yet kind and loving, and forgiving… you know… the 70×7 thing.

This morning as I contemplated all these things I thought of the scripture, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” 1 John 4:18

Because fear hath torment.” Truer words have never been written. There is torment in all of this, but I can’t figure it out… how does perfect love cast out fear, and how do we gain “perfect love”?

All I can think to do is ask God for understanding and wisdom on the matter… to achieve this “perfect love” that rids us of fear.

And then I thought of another scripture… “It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in Him.” Lamentations 3:22-24

It is a new day! The projects can be worked on and completed. The relationships can be mended and move ahead. God help us!

It is a new day!

Below are pictures I took of this new day, around 7:00 a.m. when the sun was just coming up.

The view from my front door.

The view from my front door.

This is the top of our driveway. The drive curves and takes you out to the main road through the beautiful trees.

This is the top of our driveway. The drive curves and takes you out to the main road on a path through the colorful trees.

 

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

