Something Strange

Something strange has happened recently to one of our chickens. I asked my dad this week if he had ever heard or seen this strange thing happen. My dad’s dad, used to run a chicken farm. He would purchase between 150 and 300 chickens at a time, and my dad helped him on the farm.

My dad has had chickens in his backyard for years. He says he has never seen a chicken change from one color to a totally different color after molting, but it made sense to him that a chicken that is a combined breed may revert back to the stronger of the two breeds.

We have a chicken lot with two Ancona hens and one Ancona rooster purchased from Murray McMurray Hatchery.

Ancona chickens

Ancona chicken lot.

Over the summer and fall months, one of the hens started to have more white than black in her feathers. I was busy, and my husband, Danny, was feeding them more at the time, and he kept saying, “That one chicken in the black lot is getting whiter and whiter.”

The next time I went to take care of the chickens and over the next few months, I noticed her getting whiter as the days went by. I wish now that I had documented the changes in pictures, but I would always hurriedly take care of them and head to my next chore. If I had not seen the changes myself, I would never believe it was the same chicken.

This week I went to the lot and was shocked to find an all white chicken. The hen molted, and there is no longer any back feathers on her. She seems to have plumped up and looks healthier than she did before. She is the prettiest white chicken I have ever seen.

Ancona chickens lot.

Ancona chicken lot.

I did notice as I tried to get a picture of the chicken for the blog today, she still has one small black feather on her neck to tell the tale.

Ancona chicken with one black spot on her chest.

Ancona chicken with one black spot at the base of her neck.

Have you ever seen anything strange like this occur in nature?

“For the Lord shall rise up as in mount Perazim, He shall be wroth as in the valley of Gibeon, that He may do His work, His strange work; and bring to pass His act, His strange act.” Isaiah 28:21

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

