The Winter Greenhouse

I have taken two weeks off from blogging. Life became very hectic, I experienced some sickness, and I couldn’t seem to get any gardening done.

Today, I started back on my gardening plans by gathering the plants I want to winter-over, into the greenhouse. Last year I had kept two pineapple plants, a tuberose plant, and an orchid in the greenhouse, then used them to landscape around the pool. I wanted to save these plants again, for next year.

 I landscaped near our temporary deck with free plants.

Pineapple, tuberose, and orchid plants used to landscape at pool.

I used an old tub that’s original purpose was to mix up cement. You can get them for under $10.00 at Lowes. My husband drilled holes in the bottom for drainage. I pulled the plants out of the loose mulch around the pool and placed them in the tub.

Plants from pool area with some begonias and aloe vera plants thrown in together.

Plants from pool area with some begonias and aloe vera plants thrown in together.

I also brought in my lemon tree. I have loved having this tree that produces lemons year round. I picked three lemons off the tree today. There are a few lemons left, and the tree is full of purple blooms that will turn into lemons over the winter months.

Lemon tree full of blooms with a few lemons left.

Lemon tree full of blooms with a few lemons left.

I brought in my ferns and some hanging baskets to winter-over.

Last year I purchased a small thermostatically controlled heater from Aldi for around $16.00. It would cycle on and off based on the temperature in the greenhouse and keep the temperature above freezing on very cold nights.

It is supposed to frost the end of this week but all is ready in the greenhouse so I don’t have to worry.

The winter greenhouse.

The winter greenhouse.

Have you brought in your plants yet?

“While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease. ” Genesis 8:22

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

