Who Knew?

My garden clean up is on hold right now, as I wait for frost to take down the weeds so I can pull them out easier. I have been finding plenty to do inside the house, however.

I had been looking at kitchen organization ideas on pinterest and ran across the idea of using vinyl placements to line refrigerator shelves to make cleaning easier and to just look cute. After trying numerous stores… Dollar Tree, Dollar General, Wal-Mart, Big Lots, Belk, smaller size Target…. I finally located some placemats at one of the Target superstores.

I begin by emptying the totally full refrigerator of all contents.

Totally full refrigerator.

Totally full refrigerator.

Empty referigerator.

Empty refrigerator.

Empty door.

Empty door shelves.

The kitchen looked like a nuclear accident had occurred, and I quaked at the thought that I could not possibly get this all put back together again. I took a deep breath, plunged in, and began by washing the shelves and inside of the refrigerator.

Washing shelves.

Washing shelves.

I made a discovery while cleaning inside the refrigerator. Not only is there a light bulb at the top of the refrigerator, but there is one at the bottom so you can see inside the vegetable bins. It was behind a plastic panel that I removed for cleaning. Who knew?

I put in a fresh bulb, that I happened to have on hand… and voila!

Second light bulb in lower part of referigerator.

Second light bulb in lower part of refrigerator.

It sure makes it easier to see in the bins.

I then took out the vegetable bin, to empty it of all contents and eeewwww! Who knew?… that a science experiment was taking place under a package of lettuce.

Science experiment. EEEWWW!

Science experiment. EEEWWW!

After cleaning out this mess (Did I say eeeewwww?), I began cutting the placemats to fit each shelf.

Preparing to cut vinyl placemats.

Preparing to cut vinyl placemats.

Marking a placemat for the door shelves.

Marking a placemat for the door shelves.

Who knew?…that with a few vinyl placemats… seven to be exact… and some elbow grease and initiative, my refrigerator could turn into something so cute?

Lined referigerator shelves.

Lined referigerator shelves.

Lined door shelves.

Lined door shelves.

Finished shelves.

Finished shelves.

“Thou art the God that doest wonders…” Psalms 77:14a (KJV)

“They were amazed, they answered no more: they left off speaking.” Job 32:15 (KJV)

I know, I know… you are speechless at the sight of such a beautiful refrigerator… right?

WHO KNEW?

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

