Apple Pie And Grandbabies

I made an apple pie yesterday.

We bought apples from a vendor at the Apple Festival this weekend. I kept passing by the bag, sitting in the floor of the kitchen, as I cleaned house.

Bag of apples.

Bag of apples.

And I thought, why don’t I make an apple pie like a grandma would. Like a grandma would? Oh wait! I am a grandma. Sometimes I forget. I don’t feel that old, and Finn, my sweet first grandbaby, seems like a buddy to hang out with.

We get each other. I teach him, he teaches me. We mock each other… and laugh about it. We watch the rooster crowing. I mock the rooster, then Finn mocks me… and laughs… because it is funny.

As I watch Finn grow and develop, the speed at which he changes is amazing. If I miss a few days of seeing him, he has reached another milestone, and the rate at which he learns things is astounding. The time I spend with him is magical. I see God’s creation in… not only Finn’s development but in what he points out to me as we hang together.

Finn loves… people, animals, rain, flowers, trees, birds, breezes, grass, gravel, toes, fingers, hands… and the list goes on, and on, and on.

I love hanging out, but I also have to be a grandmother to him. So I am making sure I know how to make apple pies from scratch and other things grandmas from a long time ago knew.

I got out my supplies.

Supplies for apple pie.

Supplies for apple pie.

I grated a fresh nutmeg on a grater for the first time, because that is what grandmothers do.

Nutmeg and grater.

Nutmeg and grater.

I made pastry dough from scratch using a recipe from a French Cookbook where you measure out flour and butter by  ounces, and I used my scale.  I chilled the dough per recipe instructions, then rolled it out.

Rolling out the dough.

Rolling out the dough.

I mixed the sugar, flour, spices, and apples, then added butter and the top crust.

Apples in crust with spices, sugar, and flour.

Apples in crust with spices, sugar, and flour.

Completed pie ready for baking.

Completed pie ready for baking.

I baked it per recipe instructions and voila…..

Finished pie.

Apple pie.

When Finn is old enough, I want him to be able to come to his Mimi’s house and have apple pie, and cookies, and gingerbread, and macaroni and cheese… all made from scratch. I want my house and gardens to be cozy and inviting for him to explore and find exciting things… like fish in the garden pond and funny statues hiding in flower beds.

I want him to run with the dogs and cat through the grass, catch lightning bugs, and crunch through fallen leaves.

Until he is old enough for that, I will continue to practice my baking skills and work on surprises in the garden.

When he finally learns to talk, I hope when his mom asks, “What would you like to do today?”… that he will shout “Let’s go see Mimi!”

Finn and Mimi.

Finn and Mimi.

“… Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.” Mark 10:16

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

