Seashell Shadowbox

Say that three times real fast. Ha!

I was able to complete my shadowbox this weekend. I couldn’t find letters that were the right size or color, so I used my daughter’s suggestion and made the background and lettering on the computer.

Computer processed wording.

Computer processed wording.

I glued this background to the back of the frame with rubber cement. This was a trick I learned years ago in college. Rubber cement does not wrinkle paper when it dries, and it dries clear. I used my hot glue gun to add the sea shells.

Seashells added.

Seashells added.

I used cardboard covered with the original scrapbook paper and made a collage to put in the foreground.

Collage made with scrapbook material.

Collage made with scrapbook material.

And the final results looks like this.

Final product.

Final product.

It now hangs in my bathroom, beside the reminder that there is always time for going shelling.

Done.

Done.

I filled up my old blue canning jars, and lamp, with shells. I still need more shells to complete one of the jars. Maybe next year… hummm.

Bathroom jars.

Bathroom jars.

Lamp full of seashells.

Lamp full of seashells.

Are you working on any end of summer, or fall crafts right now?

4 thoughts on “Seashell Shadowbox

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

