Seashells

Last week, while we were at the beach, I went shelling most evenings. My daughter-in-law got up with me one morning at 6:00 a.m. to go shelling.

In the evenings, my husband slowed his steps to keep pace with me as I was constantly stopping to pick up another pretty shell. He tried to help by finding shells for me. I rejected some and kept some, but for me, shelling is something I want to do for myself. I am mesmerized by the myriad of differences in the shells. I have to go slow and examine each shell. Like snowflakes and people, there are never two alike. They may share some characteristics or colors, but they are all different.

I knew by the end of the week that maybe I was overdoing the shelling as I filled my pockets once again, and my husband asked, “Don’t you have enough?”

I don’t think I could ever have enough. There are so many, and they are so beautiful.

They make me think of this scripture:

“But ask now the beasts, and they shall teach thee; and the fowls of the air and they shall tell thee: Or speak to the earth, and it shall teach thee: and the fishes of the sea shall declare unto thee. Who knoweth not in all these that the hand of the Lord hath wrought this? In whose hand is the soul of every living thing, and the breath of all mankind.”                 Job 12:7-10 (KJV)

And:

“For the invisible things of Him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:”  Romans 1:20 (KJV)

God made them all!

I washed the shells in soapy water and laid them on the porch to dry. When my husband saw them, he wanted a picture. He saw the beauty once they were all laid out.

Washed shells.

Washed shells.

Up close.

Up close.

Several years ago I started old, blue, mason jars of shells, that I use for decoration in the bathroom. I will add some of the shells to these jars.

Jars of shells on top of the bathroom cabinet.

Jars of shells on top of the bathroom cabinet.

I have a lamp in the living room that I will add shells to.

Lamp with shells.

Lamp with shells.

And finally, I am in the process of making a shadow box with the shells, seaweed, and coral, I found on the beach.

Beginning shadowbox.

Beginning shadow box.

Laying it all out.

Laying it all out.

I don’t like the type of letters I chose for the box, so I need to pick up some more this weekend. Hopefully, I can show you the finished project on Monday.

Have a great weekend, and if you are at the beach… make sure you go shelling!

I found a picture at the beach for my bathroom that sums it all up.

IMG_1291

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

