Starting The Winter Garden

I started on my winter garden this week. I cleaned off three beds and planted collards, mustard greens, turnips, kale, spinach, mesculan mix, and a small late crop of bush greenbeans. In one bed I left one squash plant and cucumber vine. They both were looking worn out, but I scratched in bone meal, organic manure, and humus at their bases to give them a boost, then placed them under the sprinkler.

I never have the heart to pull out something that may still bear fruit. Does God feel that way?

Raised beds with winter crops planted and cucumber and squash still there.

Raised beds with winter crops planted and cucumber and squash still there.

I made it easy on myself for the beds. I decided to use lasagna gardening, where you just add layers to what already exists. The beds were covered in straw mulch which I left in place, then added peat moss, Miracle Gro garden soil, organic manure with humus, fertilizer, and bone meal. I sprinkled on the seeds and raked them in.

I also kept a cosmos in one bed. It was so pretty, I decided it should stay until it frosts.

Cosmos

Cosmos

“And if it bear fruit, well: and if not, then after that thou shalt cut it down.” Luke 13:9 (KJV)

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

