Never Give Up

About a month ago I did a post about updating my bathroom (see here). I removed the old cabinet that was really too big for such a tiny bathroom and used it in another room.

Hutch previously in the bathroom.

Hutch previously in the bathroom.

I bought a smaller cabinet, designed specifically for small bathrooms, from Ikea. When I began putting the cabinet together, I realized that some of the hardware had been left out of the packaging. This meant another trip to Ikea. They didn’t have the hardware in stock, so we ordered it to be shipped to us. The cabinet also didn’t have legs and I found these had to be bought separately. An Ikea employee looked up the legs needed for this cabinet, and we purchased them while there.

When I got home and put them together, I found they were the wrong legs, so I ordered the right ones online.

Weeks passed as I tried to get this cabinet installed in the bathroom. The day finally arrived. I knew there would be a problem with the register and the legs, but I was hoping to make it work somehow. After my husband and I looked over the situation, we decided the register needed to be removed and a flat, floor register installed.

I headed to Lowes, purchased a register for the floor and then had the wonderful job of figuring out how to install it in an area not meant for this kind.

The kind of register this space is meant to have.

The kind of register this space is meant to have.

I removed the old register.

Old register removed.

Old register removed.

Since floor registers come in standard sizes, I couldn’t find one that covered this hole completely. Also, floor registers need almost 2 inches of space to sit down in the floor. I tried using a jigsaw to cut through 2 inches of subflooring which would take it down to the support beams. The register would have to sit down on these beams.

The job was too hard for the jigsaw blade, which snapped off while in use, and stuck itself up in the linoleum. Me, being the inexperienced remodeler that I am immediately pulled the blade out of the tile. Lets just say… if something metal has been zipping through wood at a high rate of speed, it is hot… I mean, surface of the sun HOT, as my son if fond of saying.

My instincts made me release it with a flip and it flew right down the vent. I had to retrieve it with a magnet tied to a string, which was no easy matter since the vent was metal also, and the magnet kept getting stuck to it. I finally got it.

In the meantime, my husband ran to Lowes and bought a set of wood chisels. Now if you think you need to work out your arm muscles this is a sure way to do it. Use wood chisels and a hammer to cut through 2 inches of wood for several hours and your arms will be very buff.

To shorten this story, here are the pictures of the final product, once the new molding was cut, painted and installed.

The floor register is recessed into the wall under the edge of the molding. The back legs of the cabinet sit on the outer edge of the register.

The floor register is recessed into the wall under the edge of the molding. The back legs of the cabinet sit on the outer edge of the register.

The legs have feet that can be turned to lengthen the legs, so I was able to get the cabinet level, by making the feet longer in front. It is also bolted to the wall from inside to keep it from tipping over.

Cabinet in place. I love the fact it has full length mirror.

Cabinet in place. I love the fact it has full length mirror.

Although it is much smaller, it stores all my bathroom products perfectly.

Although it is much smaller, it stores all my bathroom products perfectly.

The moral to this entirely too long story is… drum roll please… NEVER GIVE UP. There were so many times that I wanted to quit during this project and cut my losses, but I kept going. I felt I made mistakes along the way… I bought the wrong cabinet, without the right legs, with parts missing, and a register that didn’t fit the hole, and removed the register that did fit, and why did I need a cabinet in the bathroom anyway? Maybe I could just get by with running to the hall closet every time I needed something.

But… for some reason, I couldn’t give up on this project. Even when my arms were aching from chiseling, and I was cramped up from working in such a small space, and I broke jigsaw blades then touched them while still hot, I never gave up.

And now….

I have a great bathroom cabinet!

Final product.

Final product.

Whew!… I am ready to go back to the garden. This project made working in the hot sun pulling weeds, look like a walk in the park.

“I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

