Gathering The Harvest

I continue to get produce from the garden. The figs and okra are starting to produce a great crop right now.

Figs and okra.

Figs and okra.

There is nothing that I enjoy more as a dessert than a very ripe fig, fresh from the garden.

We were able to salvage some corn, although a very pesky squirrel ran rampant in the garden and damaged a good portion of the crop.

Sink full of corn being processed for freezing.

Sink full of corn being processed for freezing.

I froze six quarts of corn on Saturday. It was a less strenuous job that I could do, even though I wasn’t feeling well from the Rocky Mountain Fever.

To freeze corn… I blanch the corn in boiling water for seven minutes, then immediately place the hot ears in ice water. Once the corn cools, I cut it off the cob.

I have tried numerous gadgets, over the years, that claim they make cutting corn off the cob easier. The best way I’ve found to do it is to use a large mixing bowl, place a small inverted Tupperware cup in the center, stand the ear of corn on the cup, and using a very sharp knife, cut down each side as I rotate the ear on the cup. The kernels fall into the bowl and once they reach the top of the cup, I scoop them out into containers and continue the job. I have refined my cutting technique to the point of being very fast, and despite the different sizes of cob and corn, I can cut to the right depth to get all the corn, but none of the cob. Now… that is talent! 🙂

“Thou visitest the earth, and waterest it: thou greatly enrichest it with the river of God, which is full of water: thou preparest them corn, when thou hast so provided for it.” Psalm 65:9

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

