Dwarf French Bean Velour – An Amazing Experiment

This year I tried something new in the garden. In a previous post, I mentioned that I planted French beans so I could try something different. I ordered the seeds from Park Seed Company. In the catalog they state that they are “absolutely stringless and excellent for freezing.” What they didn’t say in the catalog became my favorite part when working with these beans.

As the beans were growing, there was a purplish tone to their stems. When they bloomed the blooms were purple.

Purple flowers and stems.

Purple flowers and stems.

This weekend my husband and I picked the now developed purple beans and I washed them for freezing.

Purple beans in sink.

Purple beans in sink.

The amazing part came when I blanched them for the recommended 3 minutes for freezing green beans. As they were heated up in the hot water, they turned into normal looking green beans.

Blanching green beans in hot water.

Blanching green beans in hot water.

When I placed the beans in freezer cartons, no longer did I have purple beans, I had six quarts of normal green beans.

Six quarts of green beans.

Six quarts of green beans.

I stir fried some of the fresh beans in olive oil with salt and pepper for our Sunday lunch. They turned from purple to green also. The texture is a little “meatier” than say… blue lake green beans, but they taste good. When I use some from the freezer, I can update you on how they taste then.

So… if you want to try something unusual in your garden next year, order some Dwarf French Bean Velour seeds.

“For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater; So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth; it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.” Isaiah 55:10-11

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

