Summer Harvest

Food is starting to come in from the garden. Yesterday, I picked tomatoes and hot peppers. I used some of the jalapeno peppers in Mexican cornbread for supper. We had the cherry tomatoes with ranch dressing as a side dish.

Cherry tomatoes, jalenpeno peppers, caynnene peppers, regular tomato

Cherry tomatoes, jalapeno peppers, cayenne peppers, regular tomato

After supper, my husband and I picked green beans and got them ready for processing. I canned them late last night. It doesn’t get any fresher than that.

Canned blue lake green beans

Canned blue lake green beans

My very old pressure canner that I have used for probably 25 or more years.

My very old pressure canner that I have used for, probably, 25 or more years.

The pressure canner makes canning green beans a breeze. I can at 15 pounds of pressure for 20 minutes. I always follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the care of the canning lids, which includes washing them in hot soapy water, then pouring boiling water over them and let them sit until your packed jars of green beans are ready. I raw pack my green beans and my jars always seal.

Last night I was finished by 12:30 a.m. Many times in past years I have essentially worked the third shift, canning until 3:00 or 4:00 a.m. Once I have prepared the food in the jars, I usually read books as I wait for them to process, cool down enough to open the canner, then start the next batch. Since we had a small amount of green beans I only processed one canner full. I came out with 6 quarts and 1 pint.

My plan is to plant late green beans in the next week or so and have some fall ones to can. I also still have the French green beans to process.

“Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise: Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler, Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.” Proverbs 6:6-8

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

