Exercise

I feel like I get a lot of exercise working in the yard and garden. This helps me manage my weight as I get older. Last week while my niece and nephew were visiting I got more exercise than ever. If we did what kids do on a daily basis, it would be impossible to become overweight.

If you are playing or working all the time, it doesn’t give much time for eating. If you ate only when you are hungry, which occurs suddenly in the middle of the work or play, then went back to working and playing as kids do, you would not have time to overeat.

Below are the exercise incorporated play that we did the whole week.

Walking through the petting zoo.

Walking through the petting zoo.

Digging hole for fish pond so the kids could pick out fish.

Digging hole for fish pond so the kids could pick out fish.

Swinging

Swinging

Swimming

Swimming

Playing with the dog

Throwing sticks for the dog.

Riding bikes

Riding bikes

Riding in grass uphill to the barn.

Riding in the grass uphill to the barn.

We even had bike race challenges to see who could ride uphill through the grass to the barn and get there first.

After the first day of bike riding, my leg muscles screamed in protest. As the week went by my muscles adapted and I could ride with the best of them. Due to all the gardening I do, I was in pretty good shape for all the activity except the bike riding.

If we adults could remember the play we did as kids and pull out our bikes, swim, hike, play with the dogs, and dig holes in the dirt, we would never have to worry about our weight again.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

