A Plate Half Empty

Yesterday my plate was full, even overloaded. Today my plate has been emptied of half its contents. I did get the grass mowed, and I got the bathroom primed for painting.

I scrubbed the walls and ceiling of the bathroom with Clorox to get rid of mildew, then taped it off.

Bathroom walls scrubbed and taped with painter's tape.

Bathroom walls scrubbed and taped with painter’s tape.

I got the coat of primer on the ceiling and walls, finishing up about 10:00 p.m. last night.

Walls primed.

Walls primed.

As I rode the lawn mower, yesterday, I thought about all the work that I do on a continual basis, in the garden, and in the house, and of  the abundance of grass that I mow each week. Questions arose. Is it worth it? Other people don’t do this amount of work for their land and possessions. Many people don’t own land, and they are happy to not have the upkeep that owning land creates. The Bible says we are to lay up treasures in heaven (Matthew 6:20-21) and yet… land was important to God. He established covenants with land (see Genesis 15: 18).

How we take care of our possessions is important to God, and he calls us to subdue the area He has placed us in (see Genesis 1:28). He also desires that we work hard, especially if we are growing a garden, so that we can eat. “For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat.” (2 Thessalonians 3:10)

The Amish have huge farms and they value and take care of the land God has given them. I can give many reasons for why it is okay to work as I do, but I still have to temper the work with making sure I am laying up treasures in heaven. I need to make sure I am giving to others, serving others, telling others about what a relationship with God has to offer.

One day there will be a new heaven and a new earth (see 2 Peter 3:13). The land and gardens that I now tend will be gone. I pray that if I am faithful with the blessings (land) God has given me to subdue, and create a balance in work and serving others, that one day when there is a new earth, God will let me work in His gardens there.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

