Sometimes I Forget

Sometimes I forget to do things in the garden. Last Monday, I meant to pick blueberries but forgot and became busy with other things. The blueberries ripen gradually over about a month. The more you pick, the easier it is for the ones left behind to ripen and you end up getting more if you pick them on a continual basis.

Blueberries at various stages of ripeness.

Blueberries at various stages of ripeness.

I remembered and picked them on Tuesday.

I forgot to fill up the hummingbird feeder.

Empty hummingbird feeder.

Empty hummingbird feeder.

I remembered when I saw a hummingbird hovering at the window and looking in at me with disdain.

These are small things that I sometimes forget but are easily rectified. As I have pointed out recently, I have been reading the book, Sailing Between the Stars, by Steven James. In this book, on pages 73-76, Steven James points out a time in the Bible when someone forgot something that was very important to remember.

The story is found in Luke 2:41-52. Jesus’ family had gone to Jerusalem to celebrate the feast of the passover. When they left Jerusalem, Jesus stayed behind in the Temple, unbeknownst to Mary and Joseph. They had traveled a day’s journey, thinking Jesus was with some of their other family. They searched for him for three days and found him in the temple, listening and asking questions of the teachers.

The teachers were amazed at how smart Jesus was. Mary was just upset that he had worried them so much and scolded him for worrying, “Your father and I”. Jesus asked her, “Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” (Luke 2:49 NKJV)

Now this is where it gets good. I would never have noticed this, except that Steven James points it out. When Mary scolds Jesus for worrying her and His “father”, she is referring to Joseph as his father. It had been twelve long years since the angel came and Mary had miraculously conceived. Life went on. Jesus was like all babies. He had diapers that needed changing. He teethed. He sat. He crawled. He toddled.

By Jesus saying that he had to be about His Father’s business, He was reminding Mary who His real Father was. Steven James says… “where’s Joseph through all this? Well, quiet. In the background. Just taking it all in. I think he was a man of few words. As my pastor pointed out to me, ‘None of his words are recorded in the Bible. Anywhere. Typical guy.'” (p. 75)

Steven James says, “The mystery of his true identity had faded with the years as his baby teeth fell out and his voice began to change and his acne started flaring up. Just like any other boy. He was just so human she forgot who He really was.

So He stayed behind to remind her.

And me.” (pp. 75-76)

We forget so many things. This story reminds us that as Mary forgot who Jesus’ Father was, so do we also forget who our Father is.

“The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ,” (Romans 8:16-17a NKJV).

I think we would live differently if we remembered this every day.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

