Pool Preparation for the 4th of July

We have an above ground pool. Where we live, it is not practical to have a pool in-ground. If we did, I am sure I would be removing snakes from the pool on a daily basis.

It has taken considerable effort to get the pool ready to open. When we closed it up last year, we had a leak that did not allow me to circulate chemicals the way I needed to. This produced a very dirty pool when we took the cover off.

The rain keeps diluting the chemicals that I have added, and until recently I could not get enough chlorine and algaecide to turn the water from green to clear.

Weeds had grown up around the pool, and we needed another layer of keystones to hold more mulch in place. My husband moved some keystones from our pond, and we now have only one small section that is missing a double layer of these bricks.

Saturday, I began weeding early in the morning, and then my husband and I hauled mulch, one wheelbarrow load at a time, for most of the day.

Here are the results.

Weeds around pool and second layer of keystones being added.

Weeds around pool and second layer of keystones being added.

Weeding in progress.

Weeding in progress.

It was very hot and I used my shade umbrella as I weeded.

It was very hot, and I used my shade umbrella as I weeded.

Final results. The double row of keystones holds in the mulch beautifully.

Final results. The double row of keystones holds in the mulch beautifully.

I used free plants, given to me by my dad, to landscape the area. The two spiky looking plants are pineapples that he grew by cutting the tops off of a fresh pineapple and placing them in dirt. The grassy looking plant is a tuberose which will grow a tall, sweet-smelling, white flower. The tall flower in front is an orchid. The only flowers that I bought for this project are the red vincas that I used to add some color.

 I landscaped near our temporary deck with free plants.

I landscaped near our temporary deck with free plants.

Pineapple plant.

Pineapple plant.

As we celebrate the 4th of July, we remember the freedoms that our forefathers fought to obtain for us. As we watch the direction our country is taking, it makes you wonder how much longer we will be able to enjoy the freedoms we now have. Despite the changes taking place in our country, as Christians, we will always have a freedom that can never be taken away, for Christ has made us free from sin.

“If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.” John 8:36

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty (freedom) wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” Galatians 5:1

Have a… Happy 4th of July!

2 thoughts on “Pool Preparation for the 4th of July

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

