Armageddon in the Garden

Yesterday, as I worked in the garden, I kept thinking of the final battle of all history… the battle of Armageddon. The Harpercollins Bible Dictionary says that Armageddon “represents the location of the final cosmic battle of the forces of good and evil.” (See Revelations 16:16)

When I went to the garden yesterday, I put on my armor: long-sleeved shirt, long pants, knee-high boots, leather gloves, hat, and sunscreen. I took up my weapons: hoe, rake, pitchfork, and mattock.

I surveyed the battlefield.

Overgrown mint bed, potato bed, and weeds.

Overgrown mint bed, potato bed, and weeds.

And the battle began.

The heat was searing. My clothes were soaked with sweat. Sunscreen ran into my eyes and burned like fire. I weeded, and hoed, and chopped. Tiny, villanous ants climbed into my gloves and bit me. These kind of ants leave burning, itching welts with a white blister in the center. I crushed them as quickly as possible.

A large u-g-l-y toad hopped out, scaring me half to death. He kept coming back to jump at me, just when I thought he was gone, tormenting me needlessly. I screamed several times. The dogs ignored me. They are used to my frequent tortured screams when I work outside.

I ran out two snakes. I repeat, two snakes. More screaming! The first one went on his merry way. A common ground snake. Okay, he can live, I thought, he is good for the garden.

The second snake looked suspiciously copperhead-ish. He was aggressive and tried to strike at my hoe. He got mattocked to death.

I put tons of weeds in the wheel barrow and waded through more weeds, that came to the top of my boots, to deliver them to the compost pile at the back of the garden. I was hoping that… should any more snakes be there, the boots would save me.

I finished the first row of raised beds… weeding in the beds, between the beds, and adding mulch. It took five long hours of battle to complete the job.

I have six rows of raised beds, with four raised beds in a row. If I can do one row a day, I have only five more days to fight my cosmic battle of good versus evil.

Mint bed cut back and reclaimed. It will grow back quickly at a more manageable level.

Mint bed cut back and reclaimed. It will grow back quickly at a more manageable level. Oak mulch now lines the paths between the beds.

Okra and tomato bed, weeded and mulched with straw.

Okra and tomato bed, weeded and mulched with straw.

If you think I am being a little dramatic, let me remind you… you weren’t there. If you want to figure out how to fight your way through this life, start with a garden. Fight against the weeds, disease, pests, and creatures of torment. Scream, but don’t give up… FIGHT!

Then you will be able to say… “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:” (2 Timothy 4:7)

Faith that you will be given the strength to fight the battles of life over and over… and one day… you’ll win!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

