Life Goes On

As I sit before the computer this morning, wondering what God would have me say today after all the disturbing changes to our country, I think of the next project that we are working on.

My husband has been off this week and he gathered some keystone bricks from the terrible overgrowth around our pond. The bricks were originally put there to keep the banks from washing. Now the overgrowth keeps it from washing.

Overgrowth around pond.

Overgrowth around pond.

Keystone bricks that needed to be removed from overgrowth.

Keystone bricks that needed to be removed from overgrowth.

After my husband had worked to get the bricks out of the overgrowth. Jazz was there to help watch out for snakes.

After my husband had worked to get the bricks out of the overgrowth. Jazz was there to help watch out for snakes.

I feel ashamed to even be thinking of more projects even though… life does go on. I pray, I write, I ask God, “What would you have me do for Your agenda?” I fear, even though God says, “Fear not”, over and over in the Bible. (Joshua 8:1)

I have been reading the book, Sailing Between the Stars, by Steven James. It is a great book to read, if you are trying to know God better. Steven James references a letter written in AD 250, by a man named Cyprian to his friend Donatus. (pp 60-61)

“This is a cheerful world as I see it from my garden under the shadows of my vines. But if I were to ascend some high mountain and look out over the wide lands, you know very well what I should see: brigands on the highways, pirates on the sea, armies fighting, cities burning; in the amphitheaters men murdered to please applauding crowds; selfishness and cruelty and misery and despair under all roofs. It is a bad world, Donatus, an incredibly bad world. But I have discovered in the midst of it a quiet and holy people who have learned a great secret. They have found a joy which is a thousand times better than any pleasure of our sinful life. They are despised and persecuted, but they care not. They are masters of their souls. They have overcome the world. These people, Donatus, are the Christians– and I am one of them.”

John 16:33 “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

And I am one of them!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

