Alone

Last week I worked on weeding the corn. The morning glories were taking over. When I look back at the pictures, I am amazed at what I accomplished. It took three days to get all this weeding done.

Morning glory and weeds choking out the corn.

Morning glory and weeds choking out the corn.

Another view.

Another view.

After three days of weeding in the hot sun.

After three days of weeding in the hot sun.

Another view of the weed free and hilled corn.

Another view of the weed free and hilled corn.

I have ten rows of corn. These are the longest rows.

I have ten rows of corn. These are the longest rows.

I had been trying not to whine in the garden. Guess what? I whined, every day, for three long days. The thing that I have never mentioned before in these posts, regarding my whining, is that… I am only whining to myself. When I am working in the garden, I am alone.

It is hard to work alone on any endeavor. God says, “Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour.” (Ecclesiastes 4:9)

But, sometimes we have to work alone. Maybe… no one else sees our vision. Maybe… we are the only ones called to the particular project.

As I whined to myself, I thought… it would probably be cheaper to just go buy these vegetables at the store and forget a garden. I would have more time for other things. I could get some rest.

But… call me crazy… I can’t stop. There is a deep urge, a force within, that pushes me to get out to the garden each year. I get so disappointed when weeds take over, and plants die, and no one helps. Maybe… God is using this for training grounds for something for me in the future.

Whatever the reason… I can’t stop. Something inside of myself will not allow it.

So… back to the garden I go. Alone. To do what I have been called to do, right now, in this time of my life.

But… never really alone… “For He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” Hebrews 13: 5 b

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

