Hydrangeas

Hydrangeas are one of the prettiest flowers in Southern gardens. They vary in color depending on the soil’s ph and mineral content. I have had two hydrangea bushes on each side of the steps leading to our garden shed (once upon a time — playhouse) for years. Each year they have grown larger in size and put off more blooms.

This year they are full of some of the largest flowers ever.

Hydrangea flower

Hydrangea flower

Hydrangea bush

Hydrangea bush

Hydrangea bush full of flowers

Hydrangea bush full of flowers

When I think of these beautiful bushes….I am reminded of sweet grandmas, quilted place mats, tea parties and slow summer days.

Amish quilted placemat set for tea

Amish quilted placemat set for tea

Last week as I closed each posts, I ended with a life verse from the Duggar book signing at the Billy Graham Library.

Today I leave you with Deanna Duggar Jordan’s (Jim Bob’s sister) chosen verses.

Psalms 37: 4-6 “Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. And he shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light, and thy judgement as the noonday.

Because all of the Duggars were not at the table when we passed through the line, and because some of the little ones could not write their verses, I only have three more verses to end the posts with this week. I will conclude these verses on Friday when I post my life verse.

2 thoughts on “Hydrangeas

  1. I love hydrangeas. Have them everywhere. But it’s funny how things like flowers, scents, etc…make us remember. While you think of grandmas, summer, place mats, and tea parties, I once had a friend who told me she hated hydrangeas because every time you see a run down trailer there seems to be a lone hydrangea stuck in the front yard. What’s funny is she’s right! I guess they are using the biggest blooming, prettiest flower to take the focus off the run down property :/

    • I have seen that too… and always think… no matter who you are, you will always try to add some beauty to your world. We all crave beauty so much!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

