Marigolds

Marigolds are one of the most cheerful and useful flowers to grow in your garden.

Marigold

Marigold

They repel insects such as aphids above ground and nematodes below ground. They are very easy to grow, since they prefer poorer soils. You can use them for cut flowers, as long as you cut off any leaves that will be submerged in water. They can also be dried if you remove the leaves and hang them upside down in a dry place.

This week I set out yellow, dwarf, French marigolds around the greenhouse.

Marigolds around greenhouse.

Marigolds around greenhouse.

Marigolds are annuals, but I have one flower-pot in the garden that re-seeded itself from last year’s plants.

Marigolds that re-seeded themselves.

Marigolds that re-seeded themselves.

I mentioned yesterday, that my daughter and I went to the Duggar book signing at the Billy Graham Library on Saturday. As I close each post over the next few days, I would like to leave you with the Duggar’s favorite verses they referenced when signing my books.

These verses give the Duggars the courage to live out their lives through their faith in a faithful God. Whether you work in the public or from home, it is important to have something to strengthen you. I have not chosen one single verse for myself (because I love them all), but by the time I find an end to the verses that I can share from the Duggars, I hope to have my own life verse to share with you.

Jim Bob Duggar’s favorite verse: Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”

Jim Bob Duggar at book signing.

Jim Bob Duggar at book signing.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

