Bone-Tired

I am bone-tired  (utterly weary) today.  I have been fighting “powers” and “principalities” (see Ephesians 6:12) and it is exhausting. I love blogging, but my heart wasn’t in it today…..too tired.

My devotions this morning included Proverbs 31:26….”She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.” In the book, A Woman’s High Calling 10 Essentials For Godly Living, by Elizabeth George, she points out that this Proverbs woman made “a law” to guide her choice of words. That law was “the law of kindness.” “In other words, if what she was about to say wasn’t wise and wasn’t kind, those words were never uttered.” (pp. 266 and 267)

Can’t do it. Too hard. Too tired. My prayer, “God help me!”

Next, I thought of all the work that needs to be done in the garden. What to do first? I couldn’t decide; too bone-weary to even contemplate walking out to the garden. As much as I love working in the garden, thinking of going out to work in the weeds and mud made me want to gag. (It rained yesterday. The very thing I had been asking for. I’m so ungrateful! BLAH!)

Then I had an idea! I don’t think it was originally mine.

Why not go out right now with my camera, get pictures of whatever I see that shows God’s gifts and beauty, and put them in this post today. Brilliant!

After taking my pictures, I uploaded them, and the first one I saw was one I had taken last night.

Frog on front door yesterday evening.

Frog on front door yesterday evening.

Ryan, Allison, and Finn were over. When they were ready to leave this fellow was hanging on the door. I have never seen such excitement over a frog by men. Ryan came to get Finn, to show him. Danny wanted me to get this picture. (I have to admit…it is pretty cute.)

Below are the pictures I took this morning.

One of my African Violets full of blooms.

One of my African Violets full of blooms.

Sweet pea flower with rain drops clinging to it.

Sweet pea flower with rain drops clinging to it.

Roses

Roses

Marigolds in greenhouse, ready to set out.

Marigolds in greenhouse, ready to set out.

The peat pellets doing their job right!

The peat pellets doing their job right!

One weed free area in the garden.

One weed free area in the garden.

Green beans popping up.

Green beans popping up.

Ripening blueberries.

Ripening blueberries.

New grass growing!

New grass growing!

One perfect flower.

One perfect flower.

One crazy cat that follows me around to see what I am doing.

One crazy cat that follows me around to see what I am doing.

One sweet dog that unconditionally loves me.

One sweet dog that unconditionally loves me.

Last night Finn was looking at Jazz through the door. At six months, he gets very excited about animals, but for some reason he was more excited than usual. I laughed as I held him at dog level and he blew bubbles, gurgled, kicked his feet and waved his arms over Jazz, trying to reach out and touch her through the door. Ryan came to watch Finn’s excitement. Danny came to watch Finn’s excitement. They left and Finn’s mom, Allison, came to take their place.

When Finn knew his mom was there, he became even more excited. Finn studies his mother’s face every waking moment. She takes her role, to have the right expression on her face, very seriously.

Even though Finn never said one word, it was obvious what he conveyed to his mom. He would look at Jazz, then look at his mom, again and again. He studied her face as she said, “Wow, Whoa!” (meaning…cool dog) each time he looked to her for a reaction. His excitement grew as he shared his discovery. Although, obviously, no words can be uttered at six months, words formed in my head as I watched this sweet little boy and his beautiful mom interact….”Hey mom….look look….is this a great dog or what!”…. and she responded to him….”Wow Finn! Isn’t God a brilliant Creator to make a dog and let a little boy discover it!”

Finn never grows tired of discovering his world. In fact he doesn’t want to sleep for fear he will miss something.

No matter how tired we all get…. no matter if we feel we can’t do the tasks we are called to do for each day….I hope we can pull ourselves up and try to see the world through new eyes like Finn’s…. where we get excited over the smallest of things, bubble up with joy, try to touch it, and let it touch us…. and especially, share it with someone else.

Finn

Finn

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

