Work

Saturday, I was able to get the corn planted. While my husband continued to work on leveling the bare spots in the yard to receive grass seed, I cleared off six raised beds and transplanted plants from the greenhouse. I planted beds of tomatoes, basil, eggplant, cauliflower, jalapeno peppers, and green peppers.

Garden beds planted.

Garden beds planted.

This cleared out a lot of the greenhouse. I kept back a few of each plant. If one or two doesn’t survive, I can replant.

The greenhouse cleared of most plants.

The greenhouse cleared of most plants.

Many times as I work in one area, it leaves a mess to be cleaned up in another. Clearing out the greenhouse left a need to wash and reorganize the pots. My husband helped me move out the lemon tree, coffee plants, and several other large plants that were passed to me from my dad. This made a mess on the greenhouse deck that needs to be tended to now.

Greenhouse deck full of plants.

Greenhouse deck full of plants.

There are marigolds left in the greenhouse that need to be planted around the base of the greenhouse. You may remember a previous post where I prepared this area with a rock border. It was so long ago, that now, before I plant, I will have to weed the area once more.

The work never ends. If you do not stay at it all the time, you can fall behind in just a few short days. I, however, consider this work to be a gift. I don’t know about you, but I tend to not be able to control my energies or wrong thoughts, unless I can work them out through hard physical labor.

I surely don’t want to be like the people in Thessalonians of which Paul said, “For we hear that there are some which walk among you disorderly, working not at all, but are busybodies.” (2 Thessalonians 3: 11)

Instead I prefer to follow Paul’s advice of….”And that ye study to be quiet, and to do your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you; That ye may walk honestly toward them that are without, and that ye may have lack of nothing.” (1 Thessalonians 3: 11-12)

Remember….work is not part of the curse. Work was in place before the curse…..Genesis 2:15

May you find joy in your work!

(I think I will ask the fortune cookie people to put this one in their next batch.)

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

