Projects for the Week

On Monday I always have such grandiose ideas about the projects I want to complete for the week. Usually, I am never able to complete all that I have planned.

Today, I will share with you what I would like to do this week, and we shall see if I am able to accomplish these goals.

The back of our garden has a chain link fence surrounding blueberry bushes, an apple and peach tree, two fig trees, and some lemon balm that has run rampant. It used to have raspberry and blackberries plants growing on wooden trellis, but the weeds and lemon balm took them over. I have already begun to work in this area, but for this week I want to finish cleaning it out, move one fig tree, plant some more raspberry bushes and plant corn in this area.

Area before clean up started.

Area before clean up started.

Area as it looks today after some initial clean up. I have already planted thornless blackberry bushes.

Area as it looks today after some initial clean up. I have already planted thornless blackberry bushes where the black landscape fabric lies.

The soil here is hard clay but has improved over time, as we have let our chickens roam this area. I hope by the end of this week to have my corn planted here.

The second project for this week is to till down the mound of dirt that we used to fill in a low area and plant grass. This dirt was removed from the front flower bed and I am still amazed to see how much dirt I dug out and moved by wheel barrow. My husband helped a couple of evenings, but I spent a good deal of time working on this by myself as well.

Top view of dirt pile.

Top view of dirt pile.

Bottom view of dirt pile to be worked down.

Bottom view of dirt pile to be worked down.

The next project I would like to complete is to finish laying the pavers and bricks at the front of the garden.

Pavers and bricks at front of garden.

Pavers and bricks at front of garden.

This is where I left the project.

Besides all of the above, I want to move plants from the greenhouse to the garden and flower pots. I want to plant my watermelon, cantaloupe, cucumber, and squash seeds in jiffy pots. The greenhouse is full right now, but I am hoping that after I transplant the flowers and vegetables to the garden and pots, that will give more room to plant the rest of my crops for the year.

I want to clean out the rest of my garden beds and plant as many as possible.

When I think of all the things I want to do, there are two Bible scriptures that come to my mind.

“A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

AND

“Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain: Whereas Ye know not what shall be on the morrow: for what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away. For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that. But now ye rejoice in your boastings: all such rejoicing is evil.” James 4:13-16

So…..I would really like to accomplish all these projects this week….but, lest I  boast and become evil, I want to say instead…. “if the Lord wills, then I will do all this, and may he direct my footsteps this week!”

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

