Gifts For Gardeners

My children came to see me on Mother’s Day and brought some special gifts.

The first gift I opened was for a 60 minute therapeutic massage.

Gift Certificate for 60 minute theraputic massage.

Gift Certificate for 60 minute therapeutic massage.


Now, you may be wondering what this has to do with gardening.

Well….yesterday I woke up at 3:00 a.m. because my muscles were aching terribly from the work I have been doing in the  yard and garden. When you haul load after load of compost and mulch, move rocks, hoe, shovel, pull weeds, run the tiller….you use every muscle in your body.

I actually lay awake in bed wondering what the massage therapist would think if I called her for a massage at 3:00 a.m. I decided that would be rude, then lay there thinking about how hungry I was. Doing all that work also burns calories, and apparently I had not eaten enough to cover the need. I considered getting up to find something to eat, but I didn’t want to have to move my aching body.

So…..I am definitely looking forward to using this gift!

The other gift I received came from my son and his wife.

Beautiful card with a twenty dollar bill.

Beautiful card with a twenty dollar bill.

My son specified this $20.00 was to be used for seeing the new Iron Man movie with my husband, Danny. Now….once again you may be wondering….what does this have to do with gardening?

Yesterday, I had planned to mow. Before mowing, I considered how much more I could get done in the garden and still have time to mow. Even though I had been awake since 3:00 a.m. and after taking motrin and laying on a heating pad for an hour, I forced myself to go move more compost and mulch, till an area, dig up a small bush and transplant it and plant some flowers. (See tomorrow’s post for pictures.) Then I mowed.

Sometimes there is so much to do, I am afraid to stop. I feel I will never get caught up if I don’t work every minute that I can.

The gift of going to a really good movie helps a gardener, because it enforces a rest for several hours. You can’t be gardening in the movie theatre, after all.

I am really looking forward to using these two gifts. I get a break from all the work that needs to be done. I can lose myself in an action packed movie for several hours, and I can get the pain massaged out of my muscles. Maybe my husband will even treat me to supper out and I won’t have to cook!

GOOD TIMES!

Enjoying gifts for a gardener.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

