Fun In The Garden

I always have trouble each year laying out my garden rows or planning what I want to have in each raised beds to create a stunning effect. Garden’s can be beautiful, but I tend to fail in this area, with crooked rows, and tall plants placed in front of short plants…. with colors just not quite blended together right.

Since we have had several rainy days, and I preferred not to work in mud to do my planting, I stayed in a nice dry house and hung the fairy pictures that I showed in a previous post.

This was as hard as laying out my garden rows. I struggled with it, and just as I have to deal with the imperfections of where we placed our raised beds or numerous other human mistakes, I had to deal with slight variations in the pictures. The fairies faced different ways, and the wires for hanging had significant differences when measured from the top of the frames.

I was able to tape together the brown paper the pictures were packaged in to use for my layout.

Layout

Layout

A ruler, level, and pencil became my tools for the project. I placed my favorite picture at the top for my main focal point. Then I had to decide which way each fairy should face.

My favorite fairy was placed at the top.

My favorite fairy was placed at the top.

Hanging wires.

Hanging wires.

Since the wires for hanging were at various levels from the top. I had to measure each one and make a pencil mark on the brown paper for placement on the wall. I also outlined each picture so I could easily  find the mark. The marks all varied and I was praying  for it all to turn out right. I taped the paper pattern to the wall over the bed and used push pins to mark my spot to nail in the picture hangers.

Pattern taped to wall.

Pattern taped to wall.

Hangers nailed into wall.

Hangers nailed into wall.

As you can see, none of the picture hangers were at the same level. I stood back and stared at it wondering how it could possibly turn out right. Had my measurements been accurate?

Leveling the pictures.

Leveling the pictures.

I placed the pictures on the hooks and leveled them.

Pictures in place.

Pictures in place.

What a joy to find they had turned out right. They were all in the right place and level. YAY!

It is so much more fun to just hang a random picture that needs very little measuring.

Lone fairy.

Lone fairy.

Tilley.

Tilley

This is the image I want to think about when I work with Tilley. Whether I am writing about Tilley, or planning a garden that would be exciting for any fairy to come to visit, I keep this image in my mine.

If you are planning garden rows, or hanging pictures on the wall, I hope you will use your imagination to create the best display possible. Even as you age, it is important to keep a strong imagination that lets you hope, and dream, and find the fun of seeing through a child’s eyes for the day.

“Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.” Mark 10:15 (NKJV)

Play around, have some fun, no matter your age….its still okay!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

