Mowing Grass

I feel a kindred spirit with Forrest Gump. He loved to mow grass. One of my favorite things to do is mow the grass. Many women probably think this is weird, but let me explain.

When I mow the grass I am alone. I can hear nothing over the roar of the tractor.

Tractor with mowing deck attached.

Tractor with mowing deck attached.

It takes me 3 hours to mow the grass we have. That is a lot of alone time. This time is spent de-compressing. I pray. I think. I plan. I dream. For 3 hours I am in a world to myself.

Each spring there is a tree that has blooms with the sweetest scent. As I ride the tractor I get whiffs of perfumed air from this tree. I have no idea what kind of tree it is. It grows wild in our woods.

Tree in bloom.

Tree in bloom.

Close-up of blossoms.

Close-up of blossoms.

(If anyone knows the kind of tree this is….please leave a comment.)

As the suns heats up the newly mown grass, it has the aroma of bread baking in the oven. All these scents combine into a pleasing aroma.

As I ride the tractor I watch all the different birds as they do their bird-y things. I watch rabbits play at the edge of the woods. I have seen turtles floating in the pond as I ride around it. I evaluate the yard and garden and plan my next project.

Women, do not let the men have all the fun. Jump on the tractor or riding lawn mower and plan, and dream, and think, and pray. It keeps you sane in a complicated world.

The beauty of freshly mown grass.

The beauty of freshly mown grass.

Lawn

Lawn

Afterward you can enjoy the beauty of a freshly, mown, lawn.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

