A Time To Plant

There is:

“A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted.” Ecclesiastes 3:2b (NASB)

It is time to begin planting my raised beds and I have been trying to clear out (uproot) the weeds.

Raised bed full of weeds.

Raised bed full of weeds.

You know the weeds are bad when you have to use a mattock to chop them out.

Cleaning up the bed with a mattock.

Cleaning up the bed with a mattock.

Weeds from this one bed.

Weeds from this one bed.

You also know the dirt is very rich when it grows weeds of this magnitude.

I am working hard to get my soil weed free, and add nutrients, so that I will have a good harvest this year.

“But the seed in the good soil, these are the ones who have heard the word in an honest and good heart, and hold it fast, and bear fruit with perseverance.” Luke 8:15 (NASB)

Not only do I have to prepare my garden soil, but I also have to prepare the soil of my heart, making it a good soil, to accept the seeds that God wants to plant in it, holding fast to these seeds and then bearing fruit as I persevere through the trials of life. I have to keep my heart free of the weeds that try to infiltrate and grow there. If I pluck the weeds out as soon as I notice them…. while they are still small…. if I don’t allow them to take root…. then they cannot grow and take over my life, as the weeds in my garden have.

There is so much to learn from working in the garden. God has used references to planting, good and bad soil, and harvesting, so many times in His Word. I must be willing to dig it out.

With God’s help I will persevere!

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

